Day 125: A Student-Invented Diagram

20130403-211136.jpg

I’m a little ashamed to admit it, but I strayed away from modeling representations a bit for the momentum unit in my college physics class. Since they usually handle momentum fairly well (especially because we hit Energy hard first), I didn’t have a driving need to re-write everything with the MI materials. Additionally, I had no time whatsoever to work on it because of everything else in life and work. So my students have not seen momentum bar charts at all.

But this student made one anyway, and it makes me regret that I haven’t done them in class.

I love that she even went straight for making negative bars for negative momentum, so cool! I simply couldn’t believe she essentially made up this diagram to help her think through the problem. I think I’ll be showing them momentum bar charts in the near future.

Leave a Reply

