Day 20: CAPM Paradigm Lab Discussions

20130925_091840

I stole a chapter from Kelly, again, and started day 2 of the paradigm lab for CAPM by having a discussion about the different ways we can make a cart move by itself on a ramp using the beauty of “save latest run” on LoggerPro. Then I did something different for each class, because I had a number of different ideas how to run the discussion part after this and I wanted to try them all. Stupid scientist in me, I guess.

The one I settled on was actually going back to a board meeting, where students make a circle and each group presents their data on a whiteboard in front of them. Students make observations and claims, which I record, and they try to come to a consensus about what the graphs tell them. The class that proceeded this way only took 10 minutes to nail down that slope is acceleration (which we defined more precisely as the rate of change of velocity) and that the intercept is the initial velocity, IF the data is time adjusted so that t=0 is when the cart is released from the hand.

We had some time left so we discussed what acceleration means (for now, the amount of velocity added or subtracted each second), and looked at the fact that a cart slowing down can have both positive and negative accelerations (we did the same trial, pushing the cart up from the bottom and stopping it near the top, both with the motion detector at the top of the ramp and at the bottom).

Oh, I almost forgot. In each class we discussed the graphs above in different ways, but in one I did something I really liked; I had each group pick one and sketch it on their desk, then list observations or claims. Then I had groups rotate to evaluate those observations and claims or to add their own. We rotated twice then went back to our original spots and re-evaluated the original work. Here’s some pics of what kids wrote for this.

20130925_091932 20130925_091928 20130925_091914 20130925_091906

Finally, I saw the best v vs. t graph ever, sketched by a student today.

20130925_095846

##CAPM ##paradigmlab

One Comment on “Day 20: CAPM Paradigm Lab Discussions”

  1. this year, i’m doing something similar with desks, they make great whiteboards or at the least good practice areas. the kids stated that they felt so “liberated” to get to write on desks.


Leave a Reply

