Day 55: Sold on Force Addition Diagrams

2013-11-19 10.34.29

 

I’ve probably written about this before, but Kelly sold me on force addition diagrams last year and I don’t think I’ll ever look back. So far I haven’t come across a situation that I’d rather use components on. This was from the problem below, we spent a whole hour on it. At this point this group was still wrestling with how to use the FAD to solve the problem.

Screen Shot 2013-11-20 at 9.36.50 PM

 

##BFPM ##representations

2 Comments on “Day 55: Sold on Force Addition Diagrams”

  1. […] doing Force Addition Diagrams, relative velocity problems are easier to teach. The bolded arrow is the resultant velocity, and […]

  2. […] we worked on problem solving with the Central Force Particle Model (CFPM). I really, really like force vector addition diagrams (FADs) here, as after a week of qualitative analysis kids understand that if the motion is uniform, […]


Leave a Reply

